Stretching back to 1929, the Victorian Architecture Awards, presented by the Australian Institute of Architects, serve to recognise best practices in the field and inspire others to continue striving to positively shape communities through architecture. On Friday 7th June 2024, Victoria’s top architecture honours were revealed in a night of celebration and sustainability-led dialogue at Melbourne’s Astor Theatre.

The 2024 Victorian Architecture Awards winners have been announced, showcasing outstanding contributions to architectural design across Melbourne and regional Victoria. Recognising excellence in collaboration, sustainability, and innovation, this year's awards highlighted the transformative power of architecture in shaping our communities.

228 projects demonstrating a commitment to environmental, economic, and social sustainability were acknowledged with the Victorian Architecture Medal awarded to Public Realm Lab, recognising its exceptional contribution to the built environment. Public Realm Lab won three awards for the Powerhouse Place project in Mildura, the Regional Prize, and the named awards for both Urban Design and Sustainable Architecture. As the most awarded project of the year, Powerhouse Place establishes a commitment to collaborative design, sustainability, and community.

"This year's awards recipients have indelibly shaped our built environment, showcasing the world-class ingenuity and expertise that resides in our state,” said Victorian State President, David Wagner FRAIA.“The impressive range and diversity of winning projects are a testament to the strength of the architectural profession in Victoria, illustrating architecture's broad reach in urban, suburban, and rural contexts.”

Open Journal and Neometro would like to extend sincere congratulations to all the incredible shortlisted projects, and the exceptional work of those studios and practices awarded one of the 15 named awards, 24 Architecture Awards and 22 Commendations. We would like to acknowledge in particular the following outstanding projects many of which have been realised by friends and collaborators of Neometro;

Image by Derek Swalwell.

BKK Architects and Kerstin Thompson Architects for its Commendation in The COLORBOND Award for Steel Architecture for The Round which also received a Commendation for Public Architecture.

Image by Derek Swalwell.

Kosloff Architecture for winning The Henry Bastow Award for Educational Architecture category for Mount Alexander College (MAC) project.

Image by Derek Swalwell.

Image by Derek Swalwell.

Kennedy Nolan for the Interior Architecture Award for Fairlie Apartment and Commendations for Interior Architecture for Up There and Wilam Ngarrang Retrofit with Finding Affinity. These projects, among many others, demonstrated the exciting and varied depth interior design instils within the architectural context.

Image by Thurston Empson.

Topology Studio for receiving a Commendation in the Residential Architecture Award (Alterations and Additions) for Brunswick Galley House.

Image by Tasha Tylee.

Edition Office for receiving The Harold Desbrowe Annear Award for Residential Architecture - Houses (New) for Naples Street House.

Image by Dan Preston.

Six Degrees Architects for receiving The Best Overhand Award for Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing for Ferrars & York realised in consultation with Hip v. Hype.

Image by Tom Ross.

Clare Cousins Architects for receiving a Commendation for Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing for The Nursery on Brunswick.

Image by Tom Ross.

MA+Co for receiving a Commendation for Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing for Inkerman + Nelson.

Image by Thurston Empson.

Kerstin Thompson Architects for receiving a Commendation for Sustainable Architecture for Preston South Primary School.

Image by Eve Wilson.

Kennedy Nolan with Finding Affinity for receiving a Commendation for Sustainable Architecture for Wilam Ngarrang Retrofit which perfectly resurrects an older style built environment for contemporary relevance.

Image by John Gollings.

Peter Elliott Architecture + Urban Design for receiving the Maggie Edmond Enduring Architecture Award for Knox Schlapp Public Housing, a project that has resulted from the Department of Families, Fairness and Housing’s medium density infill housing program, led by John Devenish at the Ministry of Housing. The program opened up the opportunity to commission emerging practices to help with the significant responsibility of delivering more public housing.

Victorian State Manager, Daniel Moore RAIA said: “Winners of this year's Victorian Architecture Awards represent a milestone in the field, showcasing the importance of sustainable design principles in the best projects.”

Congratulations to all! See all results here. Feature image of Powerhouse Place by Tom Ross.